RDNL promotes FAIR research data by offering training and expertise for data support.

History Dutch Data Prize

The Dutch Data Prize, later transformed into the Dutch Data Prize, has been awarded since 2010. First only within the Social Science and Humanities category. Since 2012, the Natural and Engineering Sciences category has also been added. From 2016, there is also a chance to win the award in the Life Sciences and Health Science category.

The Dutch Data Prize is awarded every two years. The next award ceremony will take place on 29 November 2022 during the FAIR Data Day. Nominations are no longer possible.

Who won the Dutch Data Prize before?


  • 17e eeuwse kranten – Nicoline van der Sijs, Instituut voor de Nederlandse Taal & Delpher van de Koninklijke Bibliotheek (SSH)
  • STORM – Nadia Bloemendaal, Instituut voor Milieuvraagstukken, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (NES)
  • CoronaWatchNL – Jonathan de Bruin en CoronaWatchNL community,¬†Universiteit Utrecht (LSH)

In 2020, an incentive prize was also awarded:

  • MyMovez Project – het MyMovez Team, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen (SSH)
  • The Orchid Flowers dataset – Diah H. Apriyanti, datamanagement & Biometrics Group, Faculteit EEMCS, Universiteit Twente (NES)
  • SPI-BIRDS – Marcel Visser en Antica Culina, NIOO-KNAW (LSH)



  • BoschDoc – Loes Scholten, Radboud Universiteit (SSH)
  • OpenML – Joaquin Vanschoren, Eindhoven University of Technology (NES)
  • AHCODA-DB – Bastijn Koopmans, Sylics (LSH)